Thursday, April 06, 2017

The Last Bailey's Womens Prize for Fiction

The Bailey's Women's Prize for Fiction is the most prestigious literary award for women writers. Co-founded in 1996 by writer Kate Mosse, the prize is worth £30,000 to the winner. The shortlist for the current year was announced on the 5th April.

The books chosen for the shortlist are -

 Stay With Me by Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀̀
The Power  Naomi Alderman
The Dark Circle by Linda Grant
The Sport of Kings by C.E. Morgan
First Love by Gwendoline Riley
Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien

The Prize will be announced at the Cadogan Hall in London on the 5th June. Tickets for the event cost £12 and are available now.

The prize was originally sponsored by Orange, the giant telecommunications group, which pulled out in 2012.  The prize was then sponsored for a short time by a group of benefactors led by Cherie Blair, a leading barrister and wife of a former Labour Prime Minister. The Diageo-owned drinks brand then signed up to sponsor the prize until 2016 but extended its commitment until the current year.  The board members are now actively seeking a sponsor for 2018. Long may it continue.

No comments:

Post a Comment